Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Younger named to Town Commission

  • By
  • | 4:00 a.m. June 7, 2010
  • Longboat Key
  • News
  • Share

Phil Younger will fill the vacant seat on the Longboat Key Town Commission after Commissioner Gene Jaleski resigned May 25.

Commissioner David Brenner nominated Phil Younger to to the commission at a special meeting Monday, June 7, at Temple Beth Israel. Commissioner Robert Siekmann nominated former Commissioner Peter O'Connor, and Commisioner Hal Lenobel nominated Planning and Zoning Board Chairwoman B.J. Webb.

Mayor George Spoll, Vice Mayor Jim Brown and Commissioner Lynn Larson and Brenner voted for Younger.

After four votes were made for Younger, Siekmann and Lenobel agreed to make the vote unanimous.

After Younger took his seat at the podium, the Longboat Key Club and Resort's Islandside renovation-and-expansion project hearing resumed.

Visit for updates on the Islandside hearing.

Pick up a copy of the Thursday, June 10 Longboat Observer to read a profile on Younger.


Related Articles

  • March 24, 2010
Spoll takes mayor's chair