Skip to main content
Longboat Key Monday, Apr. 12, 2010 7 years ago

Mote honors volunteers at ceremony

by: Robin Hartill Managing Editor

In 2009, Mote Marine Laboratory’s 1,300 volunteers donated about 200,000 hours of their time. Of those volunteers, 293 were honored at Mote’s Volunteer Awards Ceremony Thursday, April 8.

Ruth DeLynn, Frederick Derr, Don Garlock and Virginia Sanders, who all have posted at least 2,500 hours, received the 25-Year Award.

The 20-Year Award, for volunteers with 20 years and at least 2,000 hours of service, was given to William Feldman, Anita Kincade, Dru Liebler, Michael Martin and Thekla Kahn.

The President’s Call to Service Award, a national honor for volunteers who have served at least 4,000 hours throughout their lives, was given to Mary Abraham-Kinney, Chuck Armitage, Pauline Becker, Ron Ciaravella, Ronnie Enander, Melanie Kauk, Sally Knachel, Cathy Marine, Ray Mason, Howard Meltzer, Freda Perrotta, Cyndi Seamon, Mary Smigielsi, William Thibodeau and Lin Vertefeuille.

Contact Robin Hartill at [email protected].

Related Stories