Skip to main content
News
Sarasota Monday, Jan. 11, 2016 6 years ago

County prepares Comp Plan draft

Share
Sarasota County will release a draft of the document that guides development within the county Jan. 19.

As Sarasota County finalizes the first major update to the Comprehensive Plan in a decade, officials are reaching out to residents for one-on-one “deep dive” sessions with county staff members.

The county next week will release a draft of the new plan, which guides local building and development, after which staff will offer eight days to meet with groups or individuals about specific aspects of the plan. Those interested should make a reservation by calling 861-5000 or emailing [email protected].

The following days are available to reserve for meetings at the county administration building, located at 1660 Ringling Blvd. in Sarasota:

  • 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday, Jan. 25
  • 1 p.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 26
  • 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday, Feb. 8
  • 1 p.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 9

The following days are available for reservation for meetings at the R.L. Anderson Administrative Complex, located at 4000 S. Tamiami Trail in Venice:

  • 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday, Feb. 1
  • 1 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 2
  • 1 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 16
  • 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 17

The county will also host a public information session at 6 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 20, at Woodmere Park, located at 3951 Woodmere Park Blvd. in Venice, and 6 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 21, at the county administration building in Sarasota in the second floor conference room.

“This is not a county plan, this is a community plan,” said Sarasota County Planning Division Manager Allen Parsons in a previous interview with the Sarasota Observer.

Join the Neighborhood! Our 100% local content helps strengthen our communities by delivering news and information that is relevant to our readers. Support independent local journalism by joining the Observer's new membership program — The Newsies — a group of like-minded community citizens, like you. Be a Newsie.

Related Stories

Advertisement