Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

23 Sarasota students named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Finalists for the program will be announced in February.

  • By
  • | 11:13 a.m. September 22, 2020
  • Sarasota
  • Schools
  • Share

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced its semifinalists with 23 Sarasota County Schools students on the list.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for scholarships that began in 1955.

High school students enter the program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test and by meeting program entry and participation requirements. High scoring students are notified through their schools that they have qualified as either a commended student or semifinalist.

More than 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program.

From the approximately 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level, and in February, they will be notified of the designation, which leads to college scholarships. 

The district's finalists are as follows: 

  • Booker High School
    • Zephaniah W. Malka
  • Pine View School
    • Mary Jane Bailey
    • Emily Benson
    • Nicholas Butakow
    • Camille I. Edwards
    • Pragnya Govindu
    • Neel Gupta
    • James Hugglestone
    • Ziwei Jiang
    • Kiran Kadiyala
    • Grace Kim
    • Samuel Klopp
    • Julia B. Kourelakos
    • Finnegan M. Lear
    • Joseph Lu
    • Nicholas Paredes
    • Nora Povolish
    • Samantha Sineath
    • Rohitram Upendram
  • Riverview High School
    • Sawyer J. Dunn-Matrullo
    • Ashley R. Hodges
  • Sarasota High School
    • Haley J. Wood
  • Suncoast Polytechnical High School
    • Michael A. Moloney


Latest News