Skip to main content
The Meteors 10U travel baseball team captured the IBC Nations Summer Slugfest Championship Aug. 24 to 26, in Bradenton.
East County Wednesday, Sep. 5, 2012 5 years ago

Sports Briefs 9.06.12

by: Jen Blanco Sports Editor

+ ODA volleyball
opens season with win

The Out-of-Door Academy volleyball team opened its season with a 25-12, 25-17, 24-26, 25-22 victory over Northside Christian School.

Lauren Maxey finished with 16 kills and four aces, and Sam Albano added 18 digs and 10 perfect passes to lead the way for the Lady Thunder. Gabriella Costa finished with nine kills and five blocks, and Haley Preininger added 26 assists and five aces.

ODA returns to action Sept. 4 versus the Tampa Bay HEAT.

+ EMB dedicates field house in honor of former players
The East Manatee Bulldogs dedicated their field house to Josh Rogers and Brett Wagner during a special dedication ceremony Aug. 25.

Rogers and Wagner, both 18, died from injuries sustained from a car crash at Rye Road and State Road 64, last Christmas.

The two boys both began playing football for the Bulldogs when they were about 5 years old, and the Wagner and Rogers families were strong cornerstones for the foundation of the Bulldogs organization, East Manatee Bulldogs press secretary Valerie Miklavic said.

Without their support and dedication of other current and previous Bulldog board members, coaches, players, volunteers, business partners and the community itself, the field house, which includes a concession area, offices, equipment storage room, meeting room, merchandise shop and outdoor covered area, would not have been completed.

To learn more about Rogers and Wagner and the organization started in their honor visit the B.U.B.B.A. website at

To learn more about the East Manatee Bulldogs visit

+ Meteors win slugfest
The Meteors 10U travel baseball team captured the IBC Nations Summer Slugfest Championship Aug. 24 to 26, in Bradenton.

Competing up in the 11U division to gain experience playing with larger dimensions, the team went 1-0-1 in pool play, tying the Suncoast Mizuno 7-7 before defeating the Sarasota Snappers 18-3.

The Meteors faced the Mizuno again in single-elimination and walked away with a 4-3 victory advancing to the championship game. The team defeated Hit Factory 7-4 to win its first championship of the season.
Championship players include: Chase Yniguez, Connor Krug, Jake Krug, Camden Martin, Dalton Roby, Caden Chamberlin, Nicolas Hadad, Sean Vitug, Stone Frishman and John Schroeder.

The Meteors return to action Sept. 7 to 9, in the UFC V Ultimate Florida Championship.

Related Stories