Skip to main content
Sarasota Friday, Jun. 4, 2010 7 years ago

Selby Foundation awards $980,000 in scholarships

by: Robin Roy City Editor

The William G. and Marie Selby Foundation continued its five-decade-long commitment to higher education by announcing the winners of its Selby Scholar awards for 2010.

Thirty-five high school students from Sarasota, Manatee, Charlotte and DeSoto counties will receive up to $28,000 each during their four years in college.

The Selbys began their scholarship program in the 1950s.

This year’s winners in Sarasota and Osprey include: Joshua Berkey, Sarasota High School; Kristen Bernier, Booker High School; Jennifer Carlson, Riverview High School; Renee Ferraro, Riverview High School; Laura Henry, Riverview High School; Michael Herrera, Booker High School; Joseph Hurst, Sarasota Military Academy; Jasmine Jordan, Booker High School; Dana Kurtz, Booker High School; MacKenzie Morey, Riverview High School; Brandi Moser, Pine View School; Amy Newton, Sarasota High School; Augustine Obi, Pine View School; Mona Pirnot, Booker High School; Jordan Rose, Sarasota High School; Cassidy Samelian, Booker High School; Alexxus Slocum, Riverview High School; Amanda Sobojinski, Sarasota High School; Matthew Stolpe, Booker High School; and Tiffany Winter, Sarasota High School.

Contact Robin Roy at [email protected].

Related Stories