Skip to main content
Sarasota Thursday, Oct. 28, 2010 7 years ago

The Observer gives election recommendations


Here is a summary of The Observer’s candidate recommendations for the Nov. 2 election.

U.S. Senate — Marco Rubio
U.S. House, District 13 — Vern Buchanan

Governor — Rick Scott
Attorney General — Pam Bondi
Chief Financial Officer — Jeff Atwater
Commissioner of Agriculture — Adam Putnam

Retain — Charles T. Canady, Ricky L. Polston
Do not retain — Jorge Labarga, James E.C. Perry

Retain — Marva Crenshaw, Patricia Kelly, Nelly N. Khousam, Robert Morris, Stevan Northcutt, Craig Villanti, Douglas Wallace

State House District 67 — Greg Steube
State House District 68 — Jim Boyd
State House District 69 — Ray Pilon
State House District 70 — Doug Holder

Amendment 1 — Repeal of public campaign financing requirement — Yes
Amendment 2 — Homestead ad valorem tax credit for deployed military personnel — Yes
Amendment 4 — Referenda required for adoption and amendment of local government comprehensive land-use plans — No
Amendment 5 — Standards for Legislature to follow in legislative redistricting — No
Amendment 6 — Standards for Legislature to follow in congressional redistricting — No
Amendment 8 — Revision of the class size requirements for public schools — Yes
Nonbinding referendum — A nonbinding vote calling for an amendment ot the U.S. Constitution to balance the federal budget — Yes

Manatee County Commission — Carol Whitmore
Manatee County School Board District 3 — Julie Aranibar
School Board Referendum — Authority to levy 0.25 mills for critical operating needs by super majority vote of board — No

Sarasota County Commission
District 2 — Joe Barbetta
District 4 — Nora Patterson

Sarasota County Charter Review Board
District 2 — Steven R. Fields
District 5 — Kevin T. Connelly

Sarasota Hospital Board
Northern Seat 2 —Robert K. Strasser
Southern Seat 1 — Darryl W. Henry

Lakewood Ranch CDDs
CDD 4 Seat 1 —Michael Spring
CDD 4 Seat 2 — Keith Davey
CDD 4 Seat 3 — Joseph F. Sidiski
CDD 5 Seat 5 — Steven Peters
GreyHawk Landing Seat 1 — C.O. “Ollie” Kyte
GreyHawk Landing Seat 3 — Julie Mekhail; Marcia Weaver — a toss-up; both qualified
GreyHawk Landing Seat 5 — Scott Ziegler

University Place CDD
Seat 1 — Diana Armbrust

Related Stories