The Observer Group wins 17 awards in editorial contest




Local Media Association, made up of 2,000 newspapers in U.S. and Canada, announced the winners of its 2011 Editorial Contest today. The Observer Group won a total of 17 awards among four of its newspapers, including seven first place awards.

The awards by paper are as follows:

Circulation Class C
Sarasota Observer
First place — Community Service Award, Promotional
First place — Best Entertainment/Lifestyle Section (Diversions)
First place — Best Arts and Entertainment Writing, Feature (Heidi Kurpiela)
Second place — Best Photojournalism (Rachel S. O’Hara)
Third place — Best Special Section (SEASON magazine)
Third place — Best Non-Page One Layout (Nancy Schwartz)
Honorable mention — Best In-Depth Reporting (Matt Walsh)
Honorable mention — Best Front Page (Nancy Schwartz)

East County Observer
Honorable mention — Best Feature

Palm Coast Observer
First place — Journalist of the Year – Weekly Newspaper (Brian McMillan)
First place — Best Sports Photo (Shanna Fortier)
First place — Best Column Writing (Brian McMillan)
Third place — Best Feature (Mike Cavaliere)

Circulation Class B
Longboat Observer
First place — Best Front Page (Nancy Schwartz)
Second place — Best Photojournalism (Rachel S. O’Hara)
Second place — Best Continuing Coverage (Robin Hartill, Kurt Schultheis)
Third place — Best Non-Page One Layout (Nancy Schwartz)


Login Register now

Currently 0 Responses

Login below to post a comment or click register.
Account E-Mail
forgot password? click here
Speak Your Mind Below!


Subscribe to our eNewsletters
1970 Main Street, Sarasota, FL 34236 941-366-3468

Copyright 2015 The Observer Group Inc., All Rights Reserved