Chapman, Atwell and Dorfman advance to runoff


Chapman, Atwell and Dorfman advance to runoff


Date: March 12, 2013
by: Observer Staff


Scroll down to view a graphic of the city of Sarasota regular election results.

Susan Chapman, Suzanne Atwell and Richard Dorfman advanced to a runoff for two at-large City Commission seats.

Chapman was the top vote-getter with 2,705 votes, or 24.53% of the total. Atwell, the only incumbent in the race, was 99 votes behind, receiving 2,606 votes, or 23.63% of the total. Dorfman received 2,311 votes, or 20.96% of the total.

The runoff election will be held Tuesday, May 14. The top two vote-getters in the runoff election will be sworn in as at-large commissioners May 17, at City Hall.

Kelvin Lumpkin, Linda Holland and Pete Theisen will not continue in the challenge. Holland received 1,531 votes with a total of 13.88%; Lumpkin garnered 1,440 for a total of 13.06%; and Theisen received 434 votes for 3.94%

For more information, pick up the March 14 issue of the Sarasota Observer.


Login Register now

Currently 4 Responses

  • 1.
  • Please vote for Atwell and Dorfman. Both are level headed and want good growth and economic advancement for Sarasota. Chapman will leave us in the gutter while the rest of Florida flourishes!

  • Kat Lynn
    Wed 13th Mar 2013
    at 7:11pm
  • 2.
  • I agree. Dorfman and Atwell offer the better choice for well-reasoned, progressive growth and downtown revitalization.
  • Willie Oler
    Wed 13th Mar 2013
    at 6:17pm
  • 3.
  • Forget right winger Dorfman. Elect a progressive if you want good government and smart growth. Chapman can be trusted.
  • Bill Stokes
    Wed 13th Mar 2013
    at 3:45pm
  • 4.
  • Forget left winger Chapman. Elect Dorfman and Atwell if you want good government.
  • Milan Adrian
    Tue 12th Mar 2013
    at 8:44pm
Login below to post a comment or click register.
Account E-Mail
forgot password? click here
Speak Your Mind Below!


Subscribe to our eNewsletters
1970 Main Street, Sarasota, FL 34236 941-366-3468

Copyright 2015 The Observer Group Inc., All Rights Reserved