Incumbents win re-election to Longboat Commission


Incumbents win re-election to Longboat Commission


Date: March 12, 2013
by: Robin Hartill | City Editor


Three Longboat Key commissioners won re-election in the town’s general municipal election Tuesday, March 12.

In the closest race of the evening, Commissioner Terry Gans received 1,262 votes, or 50.54% of the total — just 27 more than the 1,235 that challenger Irwin Pastor received for the remaining one year of the at-large term.

Commissioner Phill Younger defeated challenger Gene Jaleski in the second at-large race with 1,479 votes or 59.66% of votes, compared to Jaleski’s 1,000 votes.

Mayor Jim Brown won a third term representing District 4 with 1,395 votes, or 56.05%, while his challenger, Larry Grossman, received 1,094 votes.

For more information, pick up a March 14 copy of the Longboat Observer.

Contact Robin Hartill at


Login Register now

Currently 1 Response

  • 1.
  • This was the most important election for Longboat Key in the thirteen years we've been part of this fabulous island. The election results were the most positive news that one who cares for the future of Longboat Key could have hoped for. Congratulations Jim, Phill and Terry. Keep on keeping on!!!
  • Milan Adrian
    Tue 12th Mar 2013
    at 8:42pm
Login below to post a comment or click register.
Account E-Mail
forgot password? click here
Speak Your Mind Below!


Subscribe to our eNewsletters
1970 Main Street, Sarasota, FL 34236 941-366-3468

Copyright 2015 The Observer Group Inc., All Rights Reserved