School Board's Citizen Advisory Group picks 10 best superintendent candidates



The Manatee County School Board’s Citizen Advisory Group determined its 10 preferred candidates for the district’s next superintendent Tuesday afternoon.

The group of 20-plus community members narrowed the 28 applicants to 10 who they believe meet the board’s criteria for its next superintendent.

A group vote, based solely on candidates applications, plus discussion, helped guide the decisions.

Now, the group will contact references before Jan. 30, when they will present their top five candidates to Wayne Blanton of the Florida School Boards Association.

Blanton will choose his own five candidates.

Then, Blanton and the citizens advisory group will reveal their choices to the school board, who also will have a top five.

The school board will make the ultimate hire.

The next Citizens Advisory Group meeting is at 6 p.m. Jan. 22 at the Professional Support Center.
Here are the 10 candidates chosen Tuesday:

Diana Greene, Ocala,
Pamela Stewart, Tallahassee
Constance Jones, Estero
Harry LaCava, Vero Beach
Edmond Heatley, Jonesboro, Ga
Rick Mills, Minneapolis, Minn
Kathyrn LeRoy, Jacksonville
Carey Wright, Washington, D.C.
Steven Cobb, Fort Wayne, Ind.
John Carvelli, Port St. Lucie


Login Register now

Currently 0 Responses

Login below to post a comment or click register.
Account E-Mail
forgot password? click here
Speak Your Mind Below!


Subscribe to our eNewsletters
1970 Main Street, Sarasota, FL 34236 941-366-3468

Copyright 2015 The Observer Group Inc., All Rights Reserved